Climate science pioneers win Nobel Physics Prize

posted in: Uncategorized | 0
Climate science pioneers Syukuro Manabe, prize share 1/4 and Klaus Hasselmann, prize share 1/4 1/4.
Credit: Niklas Elmehed © Nobel Prize Outreach

US-Japanese scientist Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann of Germany and Giorgio Parisi of Italy have been awarded the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics “for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems.”

Manabe and Hasselmann share half a prize “for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming,” The Nobel Committee writes on Twitter. Parisi is awarded half a prize for his work on complex systems, in particular, “the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.”

Watch the prize announcement on and read the Nobel Committee press release here.